The Brecknock Annual Hedging match

The Brecknock Annual Hedging match was held by kind permission of Mr & Gethin Davies at Glanirfon, Cilmery, Builth Wells.  The 61stBrecknock YFC hedging match went very well with a total of fifteen members competing.

The members demonstrated two different styles of hedging which included stake and pleach and farmers.  The judge was looking for cleanliness of pleaching, strength against stock, finish and firmness and a good top line was highly important.  The judge for the day was Mr Mike Starkey from Dorstone.

The Champion hedge of the day went to Gethin Jones from Llandefalle YFC with his section of stake & Pleach in the 21 years and under section.  Wyn Dvaies & Thomas Pritchard from Ystradfellte YFC won the Ted Ralph Memorial Trophy for best ditch. 


Farmers Hedge

1st – John Price, Sennybridge YFC

Pairs 16 years of age or under

1st – Wyn Davies & Thomas Pritchard, Ystradfellte YFC

2nd – William Bevan & Robert Bevan, Beulah YFC

Pairs 18/26 years of age or under

1st – Ryan Watkins & Mike Evans, Bwlch & Crickhowell YFC

2nd – Emyr Morgan & Aled Davies, Ystradfellte YFC

3rd - Rhys Thomas & Kevin Powell, Bwlch & Crickhowell YFC

21 Years of age or under

1st – Gethin Jones, Llandefalle YFC

2nd – Aled W Jones, Troedrhiwdalar YFC

18 Years of age or under

1st – Gwilym Prothero, Pontfaen YFC

26 Years of age or under

1st – Andrew Rees, Bwlch & Crickhowell YFC

Kenneth Rees