Erwood YFC Win Brecknock YFC Pantomime Festival 2018

Brecknock YFC’s 71st Annual Drama/Pantomime and One Plus competition took place last week (5th-10th February 2018).   The week-long festival saw around 400 members taking part and included 1 Junior Dramas, 7 Pantomimes, 15 Senior One Plus and 16 Junior One Plus.  The Junior Drama and Pantomime was judged by Mike Kaiser (GODA).  Adam Rees and Edward Hamond from Radnor YFC judged the Junior One Plus and Senior One Plus competition. 

In the Junior One Plus. Sennybridge YFC came first with “Blodwen Fach”, Will Pattermore & Issac Dingwall, Erwood YFC won the Watkins Cup for Best Male performance 16 & under, Builth Wells were second with “Hush” and third was Pontfaen YFC with “Unplugged” and Izzy Prothero, Faith Sheffield & Annie Powell, Beulah YFC won the Kirsty Jones Memorial Award for best female performance 16 & under.  

In the Senior One Plus, Sennyrbidge came first with “The Prayer”, Builth Wells came second with “Clown” and Llandefalle, third with “Hard Labour”.  Greg Morgan of Builth Wells received the FUW award for best male performance and Mari Northall of Ystradfellte won the FUW award for best female performance in “Yr Elyrch”.

The winners of the “NFU Mutual Trophy” and overall winners of the Pantomime Festival who will now represent the Federation at the Wales YFC Entertainment Feast was Erwood YFC with their production entitled “Return to Neverland”.  Second place was awarded to Sennybridge YFC with their Pantomime entitled “Rapunzel” and third place was given to Builth Wells YFC with their entry entitled “The Good, The Bad and the Ugly Sisters”.  The Spindogs Trophy for best set went to Sennybridge YFC, The Sally Cooper Choreography cup went to Erwood for best choreography.  The best written, winning the “Builth Wells YFC Trophy” went to “Builth Wells YFC”, David Price, Builth Wells YFC.

There were a large number of nominations for the best Actor and best Actress categories with some very strong performances to choose from.  Best Actor 18 and under went to Lewis Davies, Trecastle YFC, Best Actress 18 and under was Mabli Jones, Llandefalle YFC.  Best Actor 26 and under was Samuel Powell, Erwood YFC and Best Actress 26 and under went to Teleri Thomas, Sennybridge YFC.

The County would like to thank everybody who helped out during the week, anybody who donated raffle prizes, our sponsors – Honddu Veterinary Practice, Williams Coaches, Carrs Billington, W J James & Co, Penmaenau Bars Ltd. And Welsh Farm Supplies.  The FUW for sponsoring the individual awards and Barclays for supporting the raffle.


Brecknock YFC